谦卑之奇迹

"After Ahab’s death, Moab rebelled against Israel. Now Ahaziah had fallen through the lattice of his upper room in Samaria and injured himself. So he sent messengers, saying to them, “Go and consult Baal-Zebub, the god of Ekron, to see if I will recover from this injury.” But the angel of the Lord said to Elijah the Tishbite, “Go up and meet the messengers of the king of Samaria and ask them, ‘Is it because there is no God in Israel that you are going off to consult Baal-Zebub, the god of Ekron?’ Therefore this is what the Lord says: ‘You will not leave the bed you are lying on. You will certainly die!’” So Elijah went. When the messengers returned to the king, he asked them, “Why have you come back?” “A man came to meet us,” they replied. “And he said to us, ‘Go back to the king who sent you and tell him, “This is what the Lord says: Is it because there is no God in Israel that you are sending messengers to consult Baal-Zebub, the god of Ekron? Therefore you will not leave the bed you are lying on. You will certainly die!”’”
(2 Kings 5:1-6)

骄傲与自大是神所恨恶的心态,而谦卑是荣耀之开端。即使是一个最有权势和影响力的人,一旦遇到难题也会使他在耶稣的脚前屈膝。所以让难题使我们向神屈膝并寻求神的荣面。

乃缦军长是一个大人物。从他的外表看来就很了不起,可是回家脱衣服时,身上却患了麻风。每一个人都有问题,包括我们所佩服的人。遇到问题时,可别绝望并与他人做比较,以免让自己更加沮丧。

列王紀下5:2-3所记载的小女孩是犹太人,与以色列征战时就掳了她,使她成为仆婢。在神面前乃缦肯定做过许多恶事。即使没有名誉和地位,这小女孩被俘虏了也不想报仇及因沮丧使自己绝望。反而她的话语充满智慧。今日我们能失去所有,但若神祝福我们,无论我们做什么,将会蒙神祝福。

别让世人的话使你被蒙蔽。谦卑是从向神坦白表达自己的心意开始,因果然是神为我们下定论 。谦卑是从一个位格开始,即是耶稣基督。这小女孩让乃缦去一个极不光彩的地方叫撒玛利亚。乃缦被迫降低自尊心。谦卑的心将使我们得医治。神把最大的祝福放在如此卑微的地方,于是我们若要得到医治就必谦卑。

当乃缦还利用他与诸国王之间的关系时,等于他尚未卸下自己的身份。他不仅尚未卸下自己的身份,而且还依靠金钱与和人之间的关系。乃缦越高抬自己,神就越使他降卑。虽然乃缦认识不少国王,但他没有先遇见以利沙。乃缦先遇见以利沙的仆人基哈西,并被吩咐要到他所侵略之地,污浊的约旦河去沐浴。直到一个人在神的圣坛前俯伏跪拜,神不会使祂的神迹显现。神赐给神迹并非因我们拥有极大的信心或我们是配得的人,乃是因神爱谦卑的人。

为领受神迹,如何拥有谦卑的心?

  1. 谦卑地承认自己所犯的罪
    如果你想成为一只白羊,就不要找代替罪羔羊而责怪别人。也许有些基督徒或神的仆人变成了绊脚石,可不代表基督徒的神也是如此。也许我们来自不完整的家庭或是一个私生子。但别把这些作为你的藉接口。要对自己有负责人,别再责怪他人,并在神面前要承认自己的罪。
  2. 谦卑地求神的帮助
    可别把说这口头禅“神,祢若帮助我,我就会服事侍祢。” 这句話當成了口头禅。我们要以甘心乐意的心来服侍神。神只问,“你要痊愈吗?”。坦诚地向神诉求,就像个小孩告诉父亲他饿了。我们也如此,只需向神说我需要袮的帮助。神会引导我们走正确的路。也许转变不是一夜之间发生,而是要一步一步来。或神透过神迹奇事赐我们一条近路。只要你所求的是公义,良好并合乎神的话语,这就是信徒的产业了。
  3. 谦卑地赞美神的伟大
    我们要承认神的存在,也要不断地赞美祂并把我们所做的一切都交托给神,以至于我们的计划能成全。另外还要到神面前来俯伏敬拜,不是因祂的神迹而因为无论我们面对什么,神依然美善。赞美神时,我们将先要使自己卑微,好让我们最终能被提升。

Disarikan dari khotbah Ps Philip Mantofa, 17 Juni 2020, Youtube & Instagram Live
https://youtu.be/Rmx6KiCv1uA

Miracle of Humility

"After Ahab’s death, Moab rebelled against Israel. Now Ahaziah had fallen through the lattice of his upper room in Samaria and injured himself. So he sent messengers, saying to them, “Go and consult Baal-Zebub, the god of Ekron, to see if I will recover from this injury.” But the angel of the Lord said to Elijah the Tishbite, “Go up and meet the messengers of the king of Samaria and ask them, ‘Is it because there is no God in Israel that you are going off to consult Baal-Zebub, the god of Ekron?’ Therefore this is what the Lord says: ‘You will not leave the bed you are lying on. You will certainly die!’” So Elijah went. When the messengers returned to the king, he asked them, “Why have you come back?” “A man came to meet us,” they replied. “And he said to us, ‘Go back to the king who sent you and tell him, “This is what the Lord says: Is it because there is no God in Israel that you are sending messengers to consult Baal-Zebub, the god of Ekron? Therefore you will not leave the bed you are lying on. You will certainly die!”’”
(2 Kings 5:1-6)

Arrogance and pride are God’s enemies, but humility is the beginning of glory. There is problem that will force even the most powerful and influential person to kneel before Jesus. Let the problem guide us to kneel down before Him and seek His face.

Naaman was a respected commander. To others, Naaman surely looked honorable outwardly, but when he went home and opened his armor, he was a leper inside. Everyone has his own problem, including people we admire. Do not give up when we have problem, stop comparing ourselves with others and getting frustrated.

The young girl in 2 Kings 5:2-3 was a Jew who became a war slave. Naaman surely did many evil deeds before God. Although that girl did not get any respect and status, she did not bear any grudge due to imprisonment and depression. Yet, her words were full of wisdom. We could lose everything today, but if God is blessing us, everything we do will be blessed.

Do not listen to what the world says. Humility begins with integrity before God, where God determines the beginning and the end. Humility begins from one being, Jesus Christ. That young girl told Naaman to go to Samaria, a disgraceful place. Naaman was forced to swallow his pride. Our healing lies in our humility. God places the biggest blessing in a very low place; thus, our pride has to go low enough to get it.

Naaman had not taken off his pride when he used his connection among the kings. He was still prideful, and he still relied on his money and connections. As Naaman tried to be more prideful, God brought him down even lower. Naaman did not meet Elisha, even though he used his connection among the kings. He met with Elisha’s servant, Gehazi, instead; and Naaman was asked to wash himself in the dirty Jordan River in the territory of his colony. God will not give His miracles until we bow down in His altar. Miracles are given not because we have great faith or we deserve it, but because God loves humble people.

How to be humble enough to find miracles?

  1. Humbly admit personal sins
    Do not blame other people and find a black sheep if you want to be the white sheep. Maybe there are some Christians or religious people who become stumbling blocks, but it does not mean that the God of Christians is the same. Maybe we were born from a broken family or out of wedlock, but do not make it a reason to sin. Take responsibility upon yourself, stop looking at other people’s sins, and admit our own personal sins upon the LORD.
  2. Humbly ask for God’s help
    Do not make a statement like: “God, if You help me, I will start serving You.” Let it come out from our own willingness. God only asks, “Do you want to get healed?” Ask Him as it is like a hungry child asking for food to his father. Therefore, we only have to ask our Heavenly Father that we need His help. God will guide us to the right path. Maybe it will not be done overnight, but step by step. Or sometimes God can also give a shortcut through a miracle. As long as what you ask for is right, good, and according to the Bible, then it will be given as the heritage of believers.
  3. Humbly praise His greatness
    Acknowledge God, always praise Him, commit to the LORD whatever you do, and He will establish your plans. Praise Him not because of His miracles, but because He is good no matter what we have been through. When we praise Him, we humble ourselves should we be exalted later on.

Excerpted from Ps. Philip Mantofa's sermon, 17 June 2020, Youtube & Instagram Live
https://youtu.be/Rmx6KiCv1uA